Messages From An Indigo~ Generational Theory

Our generation has become completely addicted to itself. We feel the need to preserve our legacy as independent, separate individuals. Even though we all are attempting to be one and now with the conscious collective. I honestly do not like my generation and what it’s become, maybe it’s just in America that’s like this, and I see it in other countries too but those that are privileged enough to have computers, phones, internet, wifi, tablets and all the crap we don’t need, we take complete advantage of. I know I am a complete hypocrite as I type on my unnecessary Chromebook and I look to my right and there’s my smartphone with a text message from a boy waiting for me. But these things do not matter to me, when I want to write I write. When I want to look or talk to the boy I can go and see him whenever. I have these things mostly because I am attempting to keep up with the times. They make it very difficult, especially in this country, to not have technology.

I have an obsession with the TV show American Horror Story. I have always loved a good scary story and this beautiful work of director and writer cinematography is genius. In season 3 there was an incredible monologue by Emma Roberts and I’m sure it impacted people as much as it did me.

“I am a millennial. Generation Y; born between the birth of AIDS and 9/11, give or take. They call us the global generation. We are known for our entitlement and narcissism. Some say it’s because we’re the first generation where every kid gets a trophy just for showing up. Others think it’s because social media allows us to post when we fart or have a sandwich for all the world to see. But it seems our one defining trait is a numbness to the world. An indifference to suffering. 

I know I did anything I could to not feel; sex, drugs, booze. Just take away the pain. Take away my mother and my asshole father and the press and all the boys I loved who wouldn’t love me back. Hell, I was gang raped and two days later I was back in class like nothing had ever happened. I mean, that must have hurt like hell, right? Most people never get over stuff like that and I was like, “Let’s go get Jamba juice!”

I would give everything I have or will ever have just to feel pain again; to hurt. Thank God for Fiona and her herb garden. One advantage of being kind of dead is that you don’t have to sweat warning labels. There was this one brown liquid that I thought made my nipples tingle for a second but I think it was psychosematic because I polished off the rest of it and didn’t feel shit. I tried every eye of nute and wing of fly until I found something that made me not look like Marilyn Manson anymore.

And that’s the rub of all this, isn’t it? I can’t feel shit. I can’t feel anything. We think that pain is the worst feeling. It isn’t. How could anything be worse than this eternal silence inside of me. 

I use to not eat for days or eat like crazy then stick my fingers down my throat. Now no matter how much I binge I can’t fill this hole inside me.

I can’t take it anymore. I think I’m going batshit. I need to do something.”

Then she proceeds to ingest anything and everything she can, cut her self, burn her skin. She feels nothing because she had died, she feels as though she is nothing. Low and behold then she rediscovers sex, ironically with another boy who had died and been resurrected. And even though he loves another she has no care. All she wants is to feel, so that she can be satisfied with the life she has been given a second chance at. We never are content with just being ourselves, or alone with ourselves. We cling to our screens and money, our egos and hobbies. Then upon writing this tangent I found yet another incredible article on The Collective Evolution.

http://www.collective-evolution.com/2015/01/11/has-spirituality-become-another-ego-identity/

It’s sad that this article is pretty accurate, and I feel like our technology progression is somewhat to blame.

We are an outrageously progressed generation, from our thought processing to technology. Social medias come in every shape and size, but are all pretty much the same thing….HERE IS MY ENTIRE LIFE AT your FINGER TIPS. And since big brother is certainly not a myth or just a conspiracy theory, our entire existence is in a database, filed away if colleges, jobs, the gall-1024x768overnment, hackers, anyone, wants it. I can’t understand why we’re compelled to expose and exploit every detail of our life. And yes I am a supreme hypocrite by because I have an instagram and blog, but I do this so I don’t rip my hair out and go bonkers while grocery shopping in Kroger. Most of my blogs are first written out then transferred to my blog, also I’m practicing my writing                                                             style until I go back to school.

I understand confidence and wanting to share that, or a journey & experience that people should see through your eyes, or having cool surroundings and material items that you want to show off. But we have become completely obsessed with it. I’m just bewildered because its spread in both directions, to younger and older, its like we constantly have to be somewhere else besides where we are or with someone else instead of the people sitting right in front of us.

Alan Watts is another incredible author that helps to put philosophy and religion into different perspectives so we can fully comprehend it. Specifically, with this post his words on “The Mind” is exactly what I’m trying to get across.

This is a great example of well put to use social media. Blogs such as this mans (link below) is a journey worth reading about.

Photo by The Counter Intuitive Blog

Leave a Reply

