Rituals & How They Healed Me

We all know what they are, and what they aren’t. They are not the stereotypical idiom of cults and satanism with blood and sacrifice and whatever other  thoughts come to the mind when that word is brought up in conversation. Rituals have become a sweeping phenomenon throughout the hippie culture in America. Its laced in with the spiritual side of our generation, with this insatiable need to seek knowledge of a higher spirit and connect with the higher self. I practice rituals, and have known many people who practice as well, and I feel that everyone would want to perform them because rituals can heal us westerners and our monkey mind.

image

<<Rose Quartz Merkaba, 20 point clear Quartz, Hindu Goddess Lakshmi>>

I began doing rituals, probably when began practicing yoga in 2007. After I learned more about theology and different cultures’ form of worship, I loved the idea of taking out moments of your life to ‘let in the light’ and give gratitude and express shame without the judgement of a westerner higher power saying THAT IS SIN THAT IS WRONG THAT IS EVIL. No judgements just honesty and intention.



 

People like Joanne and her friends Dori and Achintya (Miranda) are so good for us western hemisphere females. They communicate through a fluid way so all corners of our country can relate and understand. I watched this video after work and it was nice, it put me in a good place.



 

Today was the winter Solstice, my favorite holiday (holy day) during this unforgivingly cold season. Everyday after today, gets just a tiny bit brighter; we get just a tough more light. The longest night of these 365 days that we keep track of.

When I discovered the Divine Feminine, Gaia, Pachamama, Toci, Danu, Juno, Isis, Kali, Minerva. Whoever. The Goddess. The Great Female Spirit. Creations Daughter. I believe that Earth should be worshiped. I believe our home that we all live on should be bowed down to and taken care of. My rituals are usually based around her. And how I can help to heal her as she healed me.

How have rituals healed me? By sitting down and focusing my attention twice a month (new & full moon) or more, my mental state has become far more optimistic, surrendering seems to be easier and with an enhanced mental mind your physical always wants to catch up. Some days its a dancing movement meditation to Joni Mitchell. Rituals never have to be the same, its all about intention.

After being drugged up so badly this past hospital visit, my mind has caught wanderers fever with a side of basket case and self doubt.  I started back up slowly into my rituals (I was very side tracked after I was discharged) and the year 2015 has flown by like a raven. Dark yet still beautiful and mysterious. By practicing a short meditation and laying down my feelings of hopelessness or gratitude and opening the door to the light, I can feel myself becoming whole again.

Once I crossed that threshold of commitment, things fell into place as they say. I began praying with Mala, pagan magick and working with pendulum practices. The dream analysis that I do has sprouted from that as well. Life begins to seem a bit clearer every day the sun rises.

I urge anyone who reads this, if you don’t already practice rituals, today would be a great time to start. Today is a day of darkness and embracing that shadow side of our life. Feeling those emotions fully and then releasing them outward so that may be recycled into a higher form. Rituals are a blessing and I’m terribly thankful I began.

Namaste

 

 

Leave a Reply

