What is the Big Dream?

“Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake”

-HDT



I began a small business making recycled dreamcatchers and jewelry with my sister about two years ago. It hasn’t made much money because I was hoping for it to be a non profit collective, it had a rocky start and thus I’m relaunching the entire collective. We all have to start somewhere, and for me its in a tiny studio, on the floor, over the internet.

After a lot of thought and brainstorming, we came up with the name Sisters of the Big Dream. Now what is that? The Big Dream?  For me, it means the dream that we strive to achieve. The dream we want to become our reality. In a way its a new age version of anyones American Dream. Mine just so happens to be slightly stereotypical, struggling artist style. The Big Dream is something that we all have within us, that we are a part of. In a sense its life at its simplest. We are living in one big dream, an illusionary shadow world.

Being a sister or a brother of the Big Dream entails awareness of the reality that you create, not being afraid to try and fail to live what your passionate for and expressing it however you choose. For example, my sisterhood is built around healing our Mother Earth. Therefore everything that I make is mostly post-consumer (i.e. secondhand jewelry & scrap fabrics, litter/recyclable materials etc) and eco friendly. I also try my best to practice any form of conservation in every aspect of my life. Also, in time I hope to donate proceeds to an environmental organization.

 

Now where did my sister and I come up with Sisters of the Big Dream? Well when we were younger we were shown a song by Anderson Bruford Wakeman and Howe (of YES) called Brother of Mine. It is a spectacle of nature and human, and how we are one in the same. Seeing this at age 8 was like seeing a theatre show. It really hit home for us and was so fitting for our cause and creation. Thus SISTERS OF THE BIG DREAM was born.

This was the only video I could find of the actual music video. I wish it was the whole thing though!



“We are heroes; we  are dreamers of the big dream”



This is an example of just one of my many style dreamcatchers I make. This was a Solstice gift to my mother. The materials I made it with are recycled tubing, t shirts, scrap fabrics I’ve had, reused string, old glass beads, vintage buttons, and some feathers. Simple as that.

Drift wood, beach glass, and shells from Florida, t shirt fabric, string, and a recycled glowstick.

A recycled glowstick, string, and t shirt fabric.

I live my art, I live my dream, and my dreams are BIG

Blessings

Leave a Reply

