Scale Down: Rediscovering Minimalism

Cling


I love the things I have. We all do, admittedly. I moved around a lot when I was younger, and had a lot of people come and go in my life, so I really never clung  to people or houses. I clung to my things. My beautiful crystals, my pretty vintage finds, records, decor, hand-me- downs, and all my books. Plus a ton of other crap I’ve collected (hoarded) over my 23 years.

We just bought a van, so how am I going to fit all these things I love in this van?

I’M NOT

It’s just physically not going to be in the cards (or in the van). Hayden (my love) has very few things which is awesome because then hopefully I will take a bit of extra storage that he won’t use 😉 However! I will be very strategic on limiting myself to the amount of things I’ll store at my mothers house and bring on our ameri-van journey.

d5dcbfdc4bc15e231bb2019d2fcc4bb5


I’m going to go through everything I own, see what holds value, and it if doesn’t it’ll be put into a category. This includes EVERYTHING I own. Its mostly clothes and art supplies that I need to scale down on. It also includes decor, books, Dvds, furniture, and everything in between.

HERES THE SYSTEM:

  • SELL– Depop, etsy, poshmark, let go, offer up, shit even Facebook is a good platform for selling unwanted items of all kinds. Things that are worth something to you and possibly could finance other parts of your life. People like to support you when you put yourself out there, in my case, it’ll help build the interior for our Dr. Vanagonzo.
  • KEEP– Only the necessities (project 333 was very inspiring) and items that TRULY bring value to your life. Key points- Does it make you want to cry having to give it up? Do you really need it or is it just a pretty desire? Can you do more than one thing with it? Can you just take a pic of it and feel satisfied preserving the memory? Consider the season as well!
  • DONATE– many people will benefit from you getting rid of the 40 pairs of shoes you own. Re-gifting is also another amazing way to get rid of things, while still loving it, now it can go to a different home leaving you with more space. I donate to a local orphanage since my clothes are still considered ‘youthful’ and also the a local homeless shelter. You can do the same, or donate to a different place/thrift store and get a tax receipt, which is always nice.

*Another optional pile you can have is the STORAGE category. This could be appliances, winter/summer clothes (whatever season it may be) and other practical things that you’ll need/want to use some day, but isn’t necessary on a day to day basis* (for us its appliances, summer clothes, gardening stuff, and other furniture that we’d like to put in out tiny home (or dome)  one day when we have land as well.


I’ve started the process already, and my car is just about out of space because its filled ONLY with things I can donate. I’m still sifting through the sell, keep, store categories.

I may cling to a lot of things, as we all do, but I can just as easily detach from it. Not to be a cynic, but none of it really matters in the end.

Its just stuff.

I’d rather have love and space.

If your trying to scale down and minimize as well

Here are some awesome links that inspired and helped me.

http://www.trashisfortossers.com

http://bemorewithless.com

https://minimalismfilm.com (which was first a book)

http://frugaling.org

Theres plenty others if you just google anything with the word ‘minimalism’ in it, these are just some of my favorite.

Also, I was just simply inspired by my claustrophobia and love for open air. Having too many things around me, suffocating me, made me CRAZY, as if I’m not crazy enough. I needed space to think and be still without constantly cleaning and reorganizing to maximize space I didn’t have.


These are my platforms of choice for selling, you should check em out! I hand make upcycled art and sell unique vintage pieces! There will be more to come!

MY ETSY STORE

MY DEPOP SHOP

One thought on “Scale Down: Rediscovering Minimalism

Leave a Reply

